The History of Top Teams in the NBA

The top teams in the NBA have a solid history to educate new players and fans. You can learn more about the establishment of the best NBA teams, their accomplishments over the years, and their most talented players to support the clubs during the regular season.

Here’s what you need to know about the history of top teams in the NBA.

Boston Celtics

Boston Celtics have been announced as the winners of the 2024 NBA Finals. It is the 18th time that the Eastern Conference team has won the NBA championship title since its founding in 1946. The NBA team was able to beat the rival team Dallas Mavericks in a 4-1 series. Boston Celtics scored over 100 points in 4 games during the 2024 NBA Finals, proving that it was the better basketball team to their fans across the US and around the world.  

Jaylen Brown was the Most Valuable Player in the 2024 NBA Finals. He scored 20.8 points in the 38.5 minutes that he spent on the basketball court in the last 5 matches of the season. Throughout the 2024 season of the NBA, Jaylen Brown maintained a respectable 23 points per game (PPG), 5.5 rebounds per game (RPG), and 3.6 assists per game (apg). He was drafted into the Boston Celtics in 2016 and has been playing for the NBA team consistently after signing with them.

The TD Garden Arena is the home of the Boston Celtics. Vistaprint is its main sponsor. Joe Mazzulla is the head coach of Boston Celtics, helping the NBA team win a number of matches under his guidance.

Earliest members of the Boston Celtics include Chuck Cooper, Bob Cousy, Bill Russel, and Thomas Heinsohn. In 1956, Bill Russel entered the Boston Celtics and played several matches to qualify his team for the NBA Finals. Boston Celtics defeated St. Louis Hawks in the 1956 NBA Finals to earn their first championship title. They were the most dominant NBA team for almost a decade since their founding, achieving a streak of eight NBA Finals wins in a row.

It took the Boston Celtics over 40 years to regain their momentum in the NBA. In 2008, Boston Celtics beat the Los Angeles Lakers in a total of 6 games to win their 17th championship title. The Hall of Famers community of Boston Celtics includes basketball players such as, Ed Macauley, Sam Jones, Bob Cousy, Bill Russell, Larry Bird, and Shaquille O’Neal.  

Los Angeles Lakers

Los Angeles Lakers is among the most popular teams in the NBA. It has won the NBA championship title 17 times and the NBA Cup title once in 2023. Basketball superstars from the Los Angeles Lakers call the Arena at Los Angeles, California, their home turf. The Arena can fill up to 18,997 seats. Jerseys of Los Angeles Lakers has a mix of the colors gold, purple, and black.

Kobe Bryant, Magic Johnson, and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar are a few of the best players of Los Angeles Lakers. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Magic Johnson won the NBA MVP 3 times while playing for the Los Angeles Lakers in the history of the team. Los Angeles Lakers have made an appearance in the NBA Finals 32 times in the past.

As one of the most successful players for the Los Angeles Lakers, Kobe Bryant has played 220 matches during the playoffs. He has played for a total of 8,641 minutes for his NBA team and scored over 33,500 points. In 2019, Los Angeles Lakers managed to reach the playoffs for the first time since 2013 and won the 2020 NBA Finals. LeBron James became the NBA Finals MVP for the 4th time by playing for the Los Angeles Lakers during the 2019-2020 season. The current roster of the Los Angeles Lakers consists of LeBron James, Max Christie, Gabe Vincent, Skylar Mays, and Anthony Davis. 

There are 39 people inducted into the Los Angeles Lakers Hall of Fame. It includes basketball legends like Wilt Chamberlain, Kobe Bryant, George Mikan, James Worthy, and Steve Nash. Jeanie Buss is the president of Los Angeles Lakers and Bibigo is the primary sponsor.

Chicago Bulls

Chicago Bulls made their debut in the NBA during the 1966-1967 season. It was responsible for putting the NBA on the global radar by winning 6 NBA titles in the 1990s. Chicago Bulls was the first NBA team in history to win 70 matches in one season.

Michael Jordon was an amazing player for the Chicago Bulls. He was drafted into the NBA team in 1984.

The giant basketball player swept the NBA, claiming 6 NBA championship titles and NBA Finals MVP for the Chicago Bulls. Michael Jordon played 930 matches for the Chicago Bulls and scored 29,277 points.

Torrey Craig, Julian Phillips, and Alex Caruso are among the active members of Chicago Bulls. The United Center in Chicago, Illinois, is an indoor stadium with a seating capacity of 23,500. It is the training arena and home of the Chicago Bulls. Michael Reinsdorf is the President of the Chicago Bulls and Motorola Mobility is the main sponsor of the NBA team. Chicago Bulls Hall of Fame members include Michael Jordon, Robert Parish, Artis Gilmore, Chet Walker, and Nate Thurmond. 

Categorised as Blog