A Timeline of Malta

By Tim Lambert

Early Malta

5,200 BC Stone Age farmers arrive in Malta

3,600-2,500 BC The age of building temples in Malta

800 BC The Phoenicians from Lebanon sail to Malta

400 BC The city of Carthage in North Africa rules Malta

218 BC The Romans conquer Malta

c. 60 AD The missionary Paul is shipwrecked on Malta

870 The Arabs conquer Malta

1090 The Normans capture Malta

1266 The French capture Malta

1283 The kingdom of Aragon in Spain takes Malta

1412 The kingdom of Castile in Spain takes Malta. Later Aragon and Castile are united and Malta becomes part of the Spanish Empire.

1530 The Spanish king gives Malta to the Knights of St John

1562 The Inquisition is established in Malta

1565 The Turks lay siege to Malta but fail to capture it

1566 La Valette founds the city of Valletta

1574 The knights of St John begin building the Sacra Infermeria in Valletta

1634 New fortifications are built across the peninsula south of Valletta. They are designed by Pietro Paolo Floriani.

1693 Malta is badly damaged by an earthquake

1798 The French land in Malta

Modern Malta

1800 The French surrender to the British

1835 A Council of Government made up of prominent Maltese is formed to advise the British governor

1849 The Maltese are allowed to elect some representatives

1883 A railway opens from Valletta to Mdina

1887 The majority of members of the Council of Government are elected

1919 The Maltese riot

1921 Malta is given a new constitution and Joseph Howard becomes the first prime minister

1933 The constitution is revoked

1940 The Italians bomb Malta

1942 George VI awards the people of Malta the George Cross

1947 Malta is awarded another constitution

1964 Malta becomes independent

1974 Malta becomes a republic

1979 The last British servicemen leave Malta

1987 The Nationalist Party take power

2004 Malta joins the EU

2008 Malta joins the Euro